Fingers in the dirt

Our gloriously lovely weather on Saturday prompted me to finally get my tail in gear and start some of my seeds.  Most of the stuff I want to grow will be just fine direct planted- beans, zuchinni, and WATERMELON!  YAY!- but I did start a number of herbs, flowers, and one very special variety of tomatoes- AU ’76s.  These are a very special variety because not only did my father help to created it when he was a lowly PhD student in- you guessed it- ’76, but also because last year he saved it from the absolute brink of extinction.  I’ll be posting more about these amazing tomatoes in a later post, but hopefully they are on their way to growth as we speak!

The other thing I planted was flowers.  We’re living in a rental house that has a perfectly serviceable but unlovely yard, and since I don’t know how long we’ll be linving here I don’t want to go out and spend a fortune on bulbs and shrubs that will take years to look good.  Instead I am going to plant some of my favorites from seed.  If they look good this year then I’ll count myself lucky and I’m only out a few bucks!

Here’s what I started from seed on February 19th:

Herbs:

  • Parsley
  • Chives
  • Sage

Flowers (apparently I like very TALL flowers!):

  • Lupine
  • Foxglove
  • Holyhock
  • Larkspur
  • Peach Passion Sunflower

Veggies:

  • Tomatoes- AU ’76
This entry was posted in Flowers, Herbs, Seeds, Tomatoes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fingers in the dirt

  1. Welcome to Virginia, Taylor! Hope your gardening will be happy.
    (and thanks for stopping by my blog)

  2. Becky says:

    I have missed your entertaining comments Taylor. Hope Virginia treats you well!If you miss the snow or get just a little too warm you can always stop by my place we have more than enough snow to share!!!

  3. Nell Jean says:

    Virginia will certainly be warmer and the growing season longer. Enjoy.
    Do you plan to add your new blog to Blotanical? I just happened across the Massachusetts one today and noticed you had moved.

Leave a Reply

